
ARANSAS COUNTY JUSTICE OF THE PEACE COURTS • * 701 E. MIMOSA ST ROCKPORT TX 78382 
JUDGE DIANE DUPNIK PCT 1  

361-790-0130 OFC 361-790-5402 FAX
JPl@ARANSASCOUNTY.ORG

NO PERSONAL CHECKS/ NO CASH 

This letter is furnished as a courtesy to you by the Justice of the Peace Courts of Aransas County, Texas, to assist you 
in making disposition of the charge(s) filed against you. 

__ 1 hereby enter a plea of "NOT GUil TY" and desire a trial. The Court will notify you of when you MUST appear 
for trial. Failing to Appear for trial may result in a warrant being issued for your arrest. You have the right to a trial 
by Judge OR Jury. THE JUDGE CANNOT DISCUSS YOUR CASE PRIOR TO TRIAL 

I hereby request: 
__ Trial by Judge (I waive my right to trial by Jury) 
__ Trial by Jury. 

__ I hereby enter a plea of "GUil TY" or '"NOLO CONTENDERE". A plea of "NOLO CONTENDERE" means that 
you do not contest the state's charge(s) against you. The fine for a "NOLO CONTENDERE" plea is the same as for a 
plea of "GUil TY". Either plea indicates that you agree to waive appearance before the court for trial. Make your 
remittance by Cashier's Check or Money Order payable to the Judge. Credit card payments can be made by calling 
the office. Judge DupnikJP1 361-790-0130 

__ 1 hereby enter a plea of NOLO CONTENDERE and request Defensive Driving. I possess a valid Texas driver's 
license or permit. CDL DRIVERS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR DRMNG SAFElY. I have NOT taken a driving safety course in 
lieu of paying a fine during the past 12 months. I am NOT in the process of taking a driving safety course to dismiss 
another offense. I have not completed a driving safety course that is not yet reflected on my driving record. I 
understand I CANNOT take the driving safety course in lieu of paying the fine if: 
I. I am accused of speeding 25 miles an hour or more over the posted speed limit.
2. My citation reflects that I was in a "construction zone" and "workers were present".
3. I am the holder of a CDL.
4. I did illegally Pass a School Bus
I ENCLOSE proof of financial responsibility (insurance).
I ENCLOSE a CASHIERS CHECK OR MONEY ORDER in the amount of$ 144.00
My case will NOT be dismissed if my Certificate of Completion and Driving Record are not received within 90 days
of my appearance date. *** SEE BACK PAGE FOR MORE INSTRUCTION***

_ _  I hereby enter a plea of NOLO CONTENDERE and request Deferred Disposition. CDL DRIVERS NOT ELIGIBLE 
FOR DEFERRED. Please call court, for information regarding Deferred and eligibility. You MUST return this letter 
and your copy of the Citation postmarked no later than the appearance date shown on the Citation. 

IF YOU FAIL TO RESPOND TO THIS CHARGE BY THE APPEARANCE DATE SHOWN ON THE CITATION, AN 
ADDITIONAL CHARGE OF VIOLATE PROMISE TO APPEAR MAY BE FILED, WARRANTS WILL BE ISSUED FOR YOUR 
ARREST AND ADDITIONAL FEES ASSESSED. YOU MAY ALSO BE DENIED THE RIGHT TO RENEW YOUR DRIVERS 
LICENSE. The minimum fine for 'VIOLATE PROMISE TO APPEAR" IS $250.00 plus Court costs. 

All fines and court costs are deposited in the County Treasury, the Justice Courts of Aransas County are paid a salary 
and receive no percentage of fine payments. 

REPLY FORM FILL IN. SIGN AND MAIi/RETURN TO COURT 

Signature: ____________________ _ Date: ______________ _ 

Print Name: ___________________ _ Phone(s) _____________ _ 

Mailing Address:------------------------------------­
(Include City, State & zip code) 

Home Address: _____________________________________ _ 

Work Phone: _____________ _ E-Mail Address:---------------------
···············································································�· - · · · · · · · · ·



JUSTICE COURT TRAFFIC FINE SCHEDULE: 
ALL FINES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE. SUBSEQUENT OFFENSES ARE SUBJECT TO INCREASED FINES . 
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• 

SPEEDING VIOLATION SPEEDING IN SCHOOL ZONE 
UP TO 10 MPH over limit ............. $ 230.00 0 TO 5 MPH over limit ..... CONTACTTHE COURT 
11 TO 15 MPH over limit .............. $ 250.00 6 TO 10 MPH over limit ..... CONTACTTHE COURT 
16 TO 20 MPH over limit .............. $ 270.00 11 TO 25 MPH over limit .. CONTACT THE COURT 
21 TO 25 MPH over limit .............. $ 300.00 26 MPH and over limit ....... CONTACT THE COURT 
26 MPH and over limit .................. $ 330.00 Cell Phone Violation .......... CONTACT THE COURT 

SPEEDING IN CONSTRUCTION ZONE WITH WORKERS PRESENT (FINE DOUBLED+ COURT COST) CONTACT COURT 
All other moving violations - Right-of-way, Passing, Stop Signs or Red Lights, Turning, Drove on Wrong Side or 
Wrong Way, Fail to drive in Single Lane, Unsafe Lane Change, Signaling, Drove on Shoulder, Fail to Dim Lights, No 
Head Gear on Motorcycle, Parking & Handicap Parking Violation ...... $ 255.00 

FAIL TO STOP FOR/OR PASSING A SCHOOL BUS LOADING OR UNLOADING .................................... $540.00 
SEATBELT VIOLATION-DRIVER ..................... $ 165.00 SEATBELT VIOLATION-PASSENGER ............. $ 165.00 
CHILD (8-17) RESTRAINT VIOLATION .......... $ 155.00 CHILD (under 8) RESTRAINTVIOLATION .... $155.00 
Fail to Stop & Give Information (Accident) .. $ 255.00 

Expired or Failed to Show Drivers' License (CONTACT COURT) ................. $ 210.00 
No Driver's License (CONTACT COURT) ........................................................... $ 210.00 
Driving While License Invalid (CONTACT COURT) ......................................... $ 310.00 
Expired (CONTACT COURT) OR No Motor Vehicle Inspection ................... $ 210.00 
Expired (CONTACT COURT) OR No License Plate .......................................... $ 210.00 
Defective Equipment and Violations Not Listed ........ CONTACT THE COURT 

Open Container .................. $ 210.00 Public Intoxication ........................... $280.00 
Alcohol Violation (Under 21 Years of Age) Minor in Possession, Consumption of Alcohol, Public Intoxication, Driving 
under the Influence, Attempt to Purchase Alcohol, Misrepresentation of Age by Minor-$ 500.00 +Court Cost 
+Alcohol Awareness Class +Community Service +Driver's License suspension 

Tobacco, Assault, Disorderly Conduct, Theft, Health and Safety Violations ....... CONTACT THE JUDGE 
LITTERING VIOLATION ....................... $ 510.00 ANIMAL CONTROL.. ............................. $ 125.00 

VIOLATION COMPULSORY INSURANCE LAW 
1st OFFENSE .................................. $ 360.00 2"d OFFENSE. .............................................. $ 590.00 
3rd OFFENSE AND SUBSEQUENT- Punishable by a fine not to exceed $2,000.00 and/or vehicle impoundment. 
NOTE: If you had an insurance policy in effect at the time of the violation but didn't have it in your possession, 
Then photocopy the card or policy declarations page and mail it to the Judge. The violation will be dismissed. 

READ CAREFULLY: COURT WILL NOT CONTACT YOU AFTER APPROVAL FOR DRIVING SAFETY COURSE. 
The violation may be dismissed by successful completion of a driving safety course or motorcycle Operator training 
course. Request for drivers' safety course must be in person or in writing. You lose the right to take the course if 
not requested on or before your appearance date. Defensive driving applies to MOVING VIOLATIONS ONLY. Your 
case will not be dismissed unless the Certificate of Completion and Driving Record are received within 90 days of 
your appearance date. STATE LAW MANDATES NO EXTENSIONS!!! You may take your course at a class in your 
area, on the internet. The course MUST be a STATE OF TEXAS APPROVED COURSE. Contact THE TEXAS 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 512-424-2032 OR www.texasonline.com to obtain (3A) certified copy of driving 
record for use with defensive driving. 

Alternatives to payment of fines and costs; A defendant who is convicted of a criminal offense punishable by fine only is entitled 
to alternative methods of satisfying the judgment against them if they are unable to pay the fine or costs, in whole or part. Those 
methods include: 1. A payment plan, allowing the defendant to make payments toward the fine and cost in designated intervals. 
Note that if any amount is paid more than 30 days after the judgment assessing the fine or costs than a $ 1 5 time payment fee 
must be assessed. 2. Disposition of the amount assessed by performing Community service. There are many options that meet 
the requirements of the law for community service, see Art. 45.0409 of the Code of Criminal Procedure for full details. A 
defendant is entitled to a minimum of$ 100 credit for every 8 hours of community service performed. 3. If performing community 
service imposes an undue hardship, a defendant who is indigent or who lacks sufficient resources to pay is entitled to a waiver 
of the fine & costs, in whole or in part. 




